Why does networking work?

helping you make or save money or bothThis a question that crops up time and again – I simply enjoy the buzz of a successful breakfast. Yes, I accept networking for some on a cold winter morning is not fun, but you are in a warm and supportive environment, and cold is only felt, when you wear the wrong sort of clothes.

Also if morning is not your thing, then there are lunch time and evening groups – just accept though, numbers will be smaller.

More importantly, I was discussing the merits of networking with a colleague earlier this week, and I explained that an average group with BNI see 200 visitors a year through the door. Not all will join, but that is 200 companies looking to grow their business. Maybe, you have something to offer them through a joint venture? Or a product or service to make their life easier?

So no gate keepers, no voice mail, just you speaking direct to a decision maker.

How much effort do you have to put in to find 200 opportunities for new business? With a networking group it is presented to you, more or less on a plate, plus of course existing members will refer you too. Again no gate keepers, qualified leads and a warm welcome.

I am known as a networking tart – it is a great tag, and a reflection on the fact, I deliver again and again for members around the table, and they in turn deliver for me.

A real win-win.

With over 15 years of networking for my own business, I know it works, so why not give it a go at a number of different groups, and find one you like, then commit, and create a lasting stream of new leads.

2 Responses

  1. Hi. I like this post. I think it is also important to note that you have identify the right groups and events to see results. What do you think?

    • most certainly Amie, finding the right group that suits your personality is vital in my book, together with the best time of day too.

Leave a Reply

