What drives your motivation and focus?

Each and every week without fail, Nigel Risner sends out a motivational newsletter – sometimes Sunday evening, and at other times depending on where he is in the world, Monday morning. You can sign up too via Nigel’s website here: www.nigelrisner.com

I always read them every week, and invariably share some of it with my 400 colleagues in my team.

This week he shared some humour (see below), to really hit home about not chopping and changing, but getting focus in your life. The grass isn’t always greener, etc.etc.

Another member on Ecademy, Andrew Horder, is running an event on the same subject very soon – maybe worth checking out? Details here

I have a lot of time for Nigel, and Andrew for that matter. Nigel is a good speaker (and has won many awards), he is disruptive to your thought processes, which is good and makes you think, but most important of all he has been there and done that.

People who know Nigel will be aware of how proud he is of his children. They are his motivation.

Nigel shares his passion for life and for making things better through self development. If it doesn’t come from yourself, who will it come from? Business and Life Coaches (even sports ones) recognise this.

During 2010/11 my motivation was my football team – AFC Wimbledon and by conclusion of the season we had achieved promotion to League 2. It was important that I had sufficient income to ensure I could follow them all over the country – that drove me to succeed, even though my health was not 100%. Now during the summer (ha ha), I am again driving the business forward as a new adventure beckons.

So what motivates you to achieve success in your life, and how do you measure that success?

Laurence

Some jobs are no pun with thanks to Nigel Risner

My first job was working in an Orange Juice factory,
but I got canned. I couldn’t concentrate.

Then I worked in the woods as a Lumberjack, but I
just couldn’t hack it, so they gave me the axe.

After that, I tried to be a Tailor, but I wasn’t suited for
it – mainly because it was a sew-sew job.

Next, I tried working in a Muffler Factory, but that
was too exhausting.

Then, I tried to be a Chef – figured it would add a
little spice to my life, but I just didn’t have the thyme.

I attempted to be a Deli Worker, but any way I
sliced it, I couldn’t cut the mustard.

I studied a long time to become a Doctor, but I
didn’t have any patience.

Next, was a job in a Shoe Factory. I tried but I
couldn’t fit in. I became depressed and soulful.

Then there was the Professional Fisherman job. But I
discovered that I couldn’t live on my net income.

I managed to get a job working for a Pool Maintenance
Company, but the work was just too draining.

So then I got a job in a Workout Center, but they
said I wasn’t fit for the job.

After many years of trying to find steady work, I
finally got a job as an Historian – until I realized
there was no future in it.

My last job was working in Starbucks, but I had
to quit because it was always the same old grind

If you would like a job with f(p)un, then why not check out this link?

Future Biz

Leave a Reply

